What are Arizona’s Statutes of Limitations for Personal Injury claims?
In the State of Arizona, there are statutes of limitations, or deadlines by which you must file a Personal Injury lawsuit after being injured in an accident. Generally speaking, the Statute of Limitations for filing personal injury claims in Arizona is TWO YEARS.
That being said, Personal Injury Law is broad and deals with a wide range of injuries. As such, the statute of limitations for each Personal Injury case depends on the facts and circumstances surrounding the accident, the type of personal injury, and who caused the injury.
Let’s break it down further:
Types of Personal Injury Cases and their Arizona Statute of Limitations
General Personal Injury claims:
Personal Injuries are injuries to the body or mind incurred during an accident or other harmful situation. These may include car accidents; motorcycle, truck, or pedestrian accidents; slip and falls; dog bites; etc.
The Statute of Limitations for an Arizona Personal Injury claim is 2 YEARS from the date of the accident. However, if you later discover an injury that wasn’t apparent at the time of the accident, your 2 years may start at the time of discovery.
Wrongful Death claims:
A “wrongful death” is one that is caused by wrongful actions, such as negligent or misconduct. These claims are reserved for those who could have filed Personal Injury claims had they survived. A surviving family member or personal representative may file a Wrongful Death claim on behalf of the decedent.
The Statute of Limitations for a Wrongful Death claim in Arizona is 2 YEARS from the date of the decedent’s passing.
Workplace accident injury claims:
Workplace accident injuries are technically handled under Arizona’s Worker’s Compensation laws.
The Statute of Limitations for an Arizona Worker’s Compensation or workplace injury claim is 1 YEAR from the date of the accident. However, if you later discover an injury that wasn’t apparent at the time of the accident, your 2 years may start at the time of discovery.
Injury claims against government institutions, including a city, county, or the State of Arizona:
If your injuries were caused by an Arizona State institution or government employee, you may file a Personal Injury claim against that entity.
The Statute of Limitations in Arizona to file a formal Personal Injury claim against a government institution or employee is 180 DAYS (six months) after the accident. Further, you have 1 YEAR after the accident to file a lawsuit.
Medical Malpractice claims:
If you were injured as a result of sub-standard medical care by a licensed medical professional, you may be eligible to file a Medical Malpractice claim.
The Statute of Limitations in Arizona to file a Medical Malpractice claim is TWO YEARS from the date you discovered your injuries were caused by medical negligence.
Product Liability claims:
Product liability claims may be made if an injury or death was caused by a manufactured product, based on its design, production, or marketing. In Arizona, these claims are handled by Arizona’s Product Liability Law.
The Statute of Limitations in Arizona to file a Product Liability claim against a product’s manufacturer, designer, or retailer, is TWO YEARS from the date the injury was discovered. However, your claim MUST be filed within 12 years of the date the product was sold for use or consumption.
Defamation (Libel, Slander)
Communication that injures a person’s reputation is considered “defamation,” and victims of defamation in Arizona may be eligible to file a claim in Civil court.
The Statute of Limitations in Arizona to file a Defamation claim is ONE YEAR from the date the libel, slander, or defamation was published or spoken. That being said, if those communications were kept hidden from the victim/plaintiff, they have ONE YEAR from the date of discovery of the false statement(s) to file a lawsuit.
Personal Injury claims for children under 18 or individuals with mental incompetence or impairment:
Arizona’s Personal Injury laws make special considerations for children under 18 and individuals with cognitive impairment.
If a child under 18 is injured, according to Arizona State Law the Statute of Limitations period does not begin until the child’s 18th birthday. Once the child turns 18, the Statute of Limitations for filing a claim is TWO YEARS.
Similarly, Arizona’s Statute of Limitations differ for individuals with mental incompetence or impairment, meaning they lack cognitive ability to understand and make decisions. For these individuals, the Statute of Limitations to file a Personal Injury claim is TWO YEARS from the date the disability is removed.
If you were injured in Arizona, you may be entitled to financial compensation.
As you can see, every Personal Injury case is unique! If you’ve been injured in Arizona, you may be entitled to financial compensation for your suffering. Further, you deserve to be supported throughout the entire process by a legal team that cares about you.
Our Arizona injury lawyers will help you file a successful claim.
Tait and Hall’s Arizona Personal Injury attorneys have the experience, dedication, and level of care that’s required for a successful injury claim. Helping our clients receive both high-quality healthcare attuned to their needs – AND reaching winning financial settlements for them – is our #1 priority.
Led by our Founding Partner, AJ Hall, the Law Firm of Tait and Hall has the team you’ll want by your side throughout the injury claim process. Moreover, Tait and Hall has a Medical Director who serves as a resource to our team– allowing us to take a more well-rounded approach to winning settlements.
To schedule a case review with our Arizona Personal Injury attorneys, call (480) 405-6767 TODAY.