Defending Against the Complexities of Arson Charges in Arizona
Arson, broadly defined, is the burning of another’s property. The exact charge depends on what was burned and whether the person setting the fire did so recklessly or knowingly.
At Tait & Hall, we have several decades of combined experience. In those decades, we have defended those charged with arson offenses across Arizona. We know the law when it comes to property damage crimes and will uphold it to protect your rights and your future.
Arizona Property Crimes & Arson Laws
What is “reckless burning”?
A person commits reckless burning by recklessly — not intentionally — causing a fire that damages essentially any property. Reckless burning is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to six months in jail, three years’ probation and a maximum fine of $2,500.
The Consequences for Arson in Arizona
A person commits arson of a structure or property by knowingly damaging a structure or property by knowingly causing a fire.
There are, however, different levels of arson offenses, based on:
- What was set on fire, and
- The value of the property.
Arson of a Structure
“Arson of a structure” includes the burning of a building, vehicle, or any place with sides and a floor used for “lodging, business, transportation, recreation or storage.” According to Arizona property laws, this offense is punishable by up to 3.75 years in prison, four years’ probation, and a maximum fine of $150,000.
Arson of an Occupied Structure
A person commits arson of an occupied structure — one where individuals are present or likely to be present — by knowingly damaging and causing a fire to an occupied structure. According to Arizona property laws, this offense is punishable by up to 12.5 years in prison, seven years’ probation and a maximum fine of $150,000.
Arson of Property Valued at Over $1,000
Arson of property over this amount is punishable by up to 3.75 years in prison, four years’ probation and a maximum fine of $150,000.
Arson of Property Valued at Over $100
Arson of property over this amount is punishable by up to 2.5 years in prison, three years’ probation and a maximum fine of $150,000.
Arson of Property Valued at $100 or Less
Arson of property with a value of $100 or less is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail, three years’ probation and a maximum fine of $2,500.
Arizona Criminal Defense Attorneys
Tait & Hall: Developing A Customized Defense Strategy for YOU
Here at Tait & Hall, we will do everything in our power to fight effectively for your rights. If you’re facing charges for arson or other property-related offenses, we promise to represent you with professionalism and dedication throughout the entire process.
We will tailor our defense strategy to your unique case and the surrounding circumstances, always doing the investigation and research it takes to achieve the best possible results. For example, our experienced attorneys may present evidence to show the lack of intent to cause damage or set the fire, lack of recklessness in causing the damage or fire, or other defenses.
Get an Experienced Criminal Defense Lawyer on Your Side
Conviction of arson charges in Arizona may lead to harsh penalties that will alter the course of your future. By working with an experienced Arizona criminal defense lawyer, your chances of success will drastically increase.
Call Tait & Hall today at (480) 405-6767 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.