Misdemeanor DUI Charges in Arizona
Potential Penalties for a Misdemeanor DUI Conviction
Even if it is your first DUI offense or arrest in Arizona, you still face severe penalties and consequences if convicted. If convicted, a judge must impose the following minimum sentence:
- 10 days in jail, with the judge having the option to suspend nine of the days if you complete court-ordered alcohol or substance abuse counseling
- $1,250 in fines or assessments plus surcharges and court fees, which can cause the total amount owed to approach $2,000
- Completion of an alcohol or substance abuse counseling program
- A 90-day suspension of your driver’s license
- A requirement to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for 12 months, which can be reduced to six months in certain circumstances
If you have a previous conviction for DUI and face another DUI charge, you face even harsher penalties, including:
- 90 days in jail, with the judge having the option to suspend 60 of the days if you complete court-ordered alcohol or substance abuse counseling
- $3,000 in fines or assessments plus surcharges and court fees
- 30 hours of community service
- Court-ordered alcohol or substance abuse counseling
- A 90-day suspension of your driver’s’ license in addition to a one-year revocation of your driver’s license
- A requirement to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for 12 months
Arizona DUI Defense Lawyers
Experienced Defense Against Arizona’s Tough Drunk Driving Laws
Arizona has some of the toughest penalties in the nation for DUI offenses. As a result, you need an attorney familiar with all the defenses available in DUI cases to ensure the best possible result.
If you want to avoid fines, jail time, probation requirements and the loss of your driver’s license or to minimize these penalties to the greatest extent possible, contact the experienced attorneys at Tait & Hall. With decades of combined experience, we can provide the aggressive representation you need.
Why hire a DUI attorney?
You can choose to represent yourself in any criminal case. However, that’s not often the wise choice. If you represent yourself in a misdemeanor DUI case, most likely, you will have trouble dealing with prosecutors, judges and law enforcement.
You may find that they consider a self-represented case as an easy win. Even more likely, you will find that they are right and that you have little chance of beating DUI charges when you try to represent yourself, no matter your education or experience with the courts. For these reasons, you need a skilled lawyer on your side.
Tait & Hall’s Criminal Defense Team
At Tait & Hall, our criminal defense attorneys know the law. We understand the evidence the prosecution needs to convict you beyond a reasonable doubt.
We know how to defend cases. We know how to deal with prosecutors, judges and law enforcement. Most importantly, we know how to get results.
Call our Phoenix office at (480) 405-6767 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.